Bungalow Project

download123

This was one of the projects we had to do in the course, which is to make a 1200 sq ft bungalow with every compartment that a bungalow should have such as; living room, dining room, kitchen, stairs,  roof structures, etc. We have to display the bungalow through our rough drafts, good copy designs, and on AutoCAD showing the floor plan and the elevations. It was very much like the Condominium project we had earlier in the year, but this time we learned about new elements in class such as; creating & building stairs, handling with AutoCAD, how to make elevations, and how to make a roofing structure for our bungalow.

The design of my bungalow however was very plain, as I learned from the Condominium project to not mess around with circular shapes, and I just stuck to a similar-rectangle looking floor plan. My 1024 square ft Bungalow has a double door garage, two bathrooms (master & guest), 1 master-sized bedroom, stairs leading towards the basement, and a double door leading towards the backyard.

Final Product [Floor Plan]

Final Product [Floor Plan]

This project I thought was again pretty fun to do and it was a good experience, as I kind of learned how to build my own house to life and do it in a format that architects would do.  It taught me many skills such as time management skills and having responsibility. These type of  projects took a pretty long time as you’d have to measure each wall length with precision, calculate the scale for each component in your house, and have some sort of visual aspect on what it looks on the outside. This of course took a lot of time, and not realizing this, I delayed this project for a long period of time, thus ruining my whole schedule both in class and outside of class trying to fix it. As I said in my other posts, being a designer has to have a lot of time management skills so they can get their finished products to their clients on the final project deadline date. And well for me? I guess this project gave me a lot of experience on how I should manage my time properly.

bungalowside

Leave a comment